A Ridiculous Side Profile Leave Me a Nastigram My Adoring Public I'd Like to Phone a Friend, Regis Portrait of a Treefrog I Ain't No Shakespeare, But... Get Your Own Damn Diary! Snoop in Other People's Diaries An Outstanding Example of Layout Design Sign My Guestbook Already! Read a Note/Leave a Note These Are a Few of My Favorite Things Would You Like to Take a Survey? One Ring to Rule Them All... You Think You Know Me...
Rewind Play Fast Forward Search
REWPLAYFFSEARCH

Have a day!
The current mood of treefrog1976@yahoo.com at www.imood.com

This Entry was added on 2003-10-06 at 4:31 p.m.

Tournament Cheaters and No Work

Well, I first off have to apologize for not doing an entry yesterday. I was at the tourney all day, and then my mom and I were arguing at night. I didn't want to add MORE fuel to the fire. What did we argue about? The usual... I don't do enough around the house, I don't get out enough, I haven't called my dad (though we have been emailing back and forth), my room isn't as clean as she would like it... nothing is my business, she has to know about it or she gets upset... But enough about that.

I FINALLY got my phone going about an hour ago. Damn Sprint PCS. It only took them 5 days (or was it more? I can't remember...), and 10 calls. Yesterday their damn automated phone system was down. It kept sending me back to the beginning, or kicking me off. Oh well, it works now.

So about the Magic tournament yesterday. It started off badly, and ended badly. I got there, and they made the announcement (for the first time, mind you) that it was going to be a teams tournament. If I had known that a while ago, I would have gotten a team together last weekend. So these two kids asked me, and since no one else seemed to be looking for a partner, I said "sure". Well, it turned out that one of them had only been playing for four weeks. So I wound up spending most of the prep time helping him make his deck, and didn't actually make one for myself. So I didn't win a single game. I wound up getting paired with the top people from all of the other teams, with a thrown-together deck. Quickest way to lose. I don't know that I would have even bothered playing, had I known... Yes I would have. But I would have concentrated on my deck first. No, I wouldn't have... okay, so everything unfolded exactly as it would have every other time. But that's only the beginning. Later on in the day, I caught the new kid on my team cheating. Twice. He didn't win his game anyway, but afterward I pulled him aside. And gave him a piece of my mind. I told him that if I caught him cheating again, I would turn him into the judges myself. I don't hold with cheating at games. Why bother playing, if you have to cheat to win? Of course, he denied everything at first. But I wouldn't back down, and at the end of everything, he was resigned to it... the penalties for cheating in an official tournament can be harsh. Six months, a year, or more of being banned from participating in ANY official tournaments. I wouldn't normally wish that of anyone, but if you break the rules, there have to be consequences.

I left for work this morning, and I had barely gotten around the corner when I got a call from Steve. Apparently there was no work in the office, so I could go back home and he'd call me in a few hours. Cool, so I went back to sleep. After the few hours, he called and asked me to go to Bonita Springs to the corporate office to pick up a check. He was going to get the tires taken care of. Okay, it's about an hour drive from my house, but I would be getting paid for it. Not a problem. But I misunderstood what he said about calling him, and I didn't call him until I was almost at Pep Boys with the check. He wanted me to call from Bonita. Oops. So we went back to his house and watched some TV (read: slept) until the van was ready. I then came home, and here I am.

But it's time to go to work, so I'm out. Later all!

My Buddy List
(disclaimer)