A Ridiculous Side Profile Leave Me a Nastigram My Adoring Public I'd Like to Phone a Friend, Regis Portrait of a Treefrog I Ain't No Shakespeare, But... Get Your Own Damn Diary! Snoop in Other People's Diaries An Outstanding Example of Layout Design Sign My Guestbook Already! Read a Note/Leave a Note These Are a Few of My Favorite Things Would You Like to Take a Survey? One Ring to Rule Them All... You Think You Know Me...
Rewind Play Fast Forward Search
REWPLAYFFSEARCH

Have a day!
The current mood of treefrog1976@yahoo.com at www.imood.com

This Entry was added on 2003-01-11 at 2:41 a.m.

TV, Movies, and More

Okay, a couple days ago I was watching the newest episode of the show "24". I don't know if any of you have seen it, but it is an excellent show, in its second season. Basically it is about the life of a government counter-terrorist agent, Jack Bauer (played by Keifer Sutherland). Each episode is filmed in real time, meaning that each hour show is actually one hour of time in the storyline. Each season is 24 hours, and therefore 24 episodes. The first season dealt with an assassination attempt on Senator Palmer from California, on the day of the California primary of the presidential election. Senator Palmer was the first good chance for an African-American president. Along the way, there are subplots, including double agents, a kidnapping, and the return of a thought dead terrorist.

Now in season two, the plot revolves around a nuclear bomb that has been planted in Los Angeles. David Palmer is now the President, and Jack has "retired" from active service. One of the new subplots involves Jack's daughter Kim (played by Elisha Cuthbert) and an "au pair" job she has. (For those of you who don't know, "au pair" is a fancy term for a combination nanny/babysitter.)

But I don't really get to watch a lot of television any more. I tape "24" so I can watch it religiously, and I try to catch some of my WB shows (Charmed, Angel, Dawson's Creek, 7th Heaven, Birds of Prey, Everwood). The other one that I can't see any more is Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I am a BTVS fanatic, but there's a glitch in the system down here. We are living in a newly populated area, so no cable. We have a satellite dish. The dish doesn't pick up the local stations; an antenna does that. Now Buffy is on UPN, which is a local station. So the satellite won't pick it up. But the antenna can't find UPN, so I don't get to watch my Buffy. :(

About the only thing I do television related any more is to fall asleep to movies. And that reminds me, I just got 4 new movies a couple days ago. There's Something About Mary, Stigmata, I'm Gonna Git You Sucka, and Midnight Madness. If you don't know about Mary, you've been living under a rock. Sucka is a classic "black comedy". Stigmata is a dark thriller with religious tones to it. And Midnight Madness is an older movie involving an all night romp through Los Angeles. To explain it completely would take too much time and space... so you'll just have to rent it for yourself. :)

I miss my cats. I have always loved cats, and it's the first time that I don't have one around.

But speaking of cats, one of my newer friends, Cat is actually the closest friend to me now, in terms of distance. She only lives about 4 1/2 hours away, while Amanda lives about 5 1/2 hours away. Cat wants me to come visit her, but unfortunately I don't have a car yet. As soon as I get one though, I will be visiting both Cat and Amanda, and who knows WHO else, on the weekends. It's definitely something to look forward to, having a little freedom again.

My Buddy List
(disclaimer)